Chia Waffles and my simple waffle recipe

On Sunday (my only real day off right now) I always like to treat my self to a nice breakfast. It doesn’t have to be crazy or extra fancy, just something more special than my normal oatmeal for breakfast. I usually make waffles, because I am a big fan of waffles and because my Uncle Mike gave me a vintage sunbeam waffle maker for Christmas. It is a beautiful machine! Even though it is vintage I can still see my reflection in the exterior and frankly this picture doesn’t do it justice. This picture is just one I found online not one of my actual waffle maker.

IMG_4042.jpeg

Do I sound obsessed yet?

So anyway I was getting ready to make waffles on Sunday when I saw the chia seeds sitting my pantry. And a thought occured to me, if chia seeds don’t taste like anything then I wonder what they would do to my waffles. I mean if it only made something I love more healthy then it would be totally worth it. So I added a tbsp to my normal waffle recipe which I will list later. And I think it worked, the only difference I noticed was that the center was creamier than normal but not under done creamy and they were a little less sweet. But over all still good.

Waffle Recipe

makes 2-4 waffles depending on the size of your waffle maker

Ingredients

1 cup flour

1 1/2 tsp Baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 egg, slightly beaten

1 cup milk

2 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp unsalted butter melted

1 tbsp chia seeds* optional

Directions

  1. Prep your waffle maker, melt butter, put chia seeds (if using) in milk and let solidify
  2. Mix dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl
  3. Add milk/ chia seed mixture, beaten egg, vanilla, and butter and mix until combined but still some lumps
  4. Your done now you are all set to make waffles!

This is a pretty basic waffle recipe so feel free to change up the recipe. By adding spices or yummy fillings. Basically have fun with it.

I have added pecans, almonds, banana chips, peanut butter, and maple syrup. Oh and not all in one waffle, all though…hmm.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

