How to Make a Xbox Controller cake xbox cake part 3

1. I made marshmallow fondant. And dyed it the colors I needed it to be. I also bought decorators gel for the clear buttons in the top right hand corner and it dyed it the colors I needed. Don’t forget to test the colors out on the color of fondant you are using. Because they will be lighter in color once they are on the white fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant Recipe

*note: this recipe makes WAY more than you really need to make this cake. But can be good to have extra to practice colors with.

Ingredients

1/4 cup butter

1 (16 ounce) package miniature marshmallows

4 tablespoons water

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 pounds confectioners’ sugar, divided

Directions

  1. Place the butter in a shallow bowl, and set aside.
  2. Place the marshmallows in a large microwave-safe bowl, and microwave on High for 30 seconds to 1 minute to start melting the marshmallows. Carefully stir the water and vanilla extract into the hot marshmallows, and stir until the mixture is smooth. Slowly beat in the confectioners’ sugar, a cup at a time, until you have a sticky dough. Reserve 1 cup of powdered sugar for kneading. The dough will be very stiff.
  3. Rub your hands thoroughly with butter, and begin kneading the sticky dough. As you knead, the dough will become workable and pliable. Turn the dough out onto a working surface lightly greased with crisco and dusted with confectioners’ sugar and continue kneading until the fondant is smooth and no longer sticky to the touch, 5 to 10 minutes*.
  4. Form the fondant into a ball, wrap it tightly in plastic wrap, and refrigerate overnight. To use, allow the fondant to come to room temperature, and roll it out onto a flat surface dusted with confectioners’ sugar. Try to work quickly if you work too slowly your fondant will get what I like to call “elephant butt” which means it will get crackly and wrinkly and you wont be able to get it back.

Note: It may take longer than 5-1o minutes, so if after 10 minutes your dough is still tacky, keep adding confectioners’ sugar and kneading.

2. I baked the cake in a 6 in round pan. Using the red velvet cake recipe from the previous post. Ps I apologize about the photos, these were just supposed to be for reference if I made it again.

3. I made a sketch of the controller, and used it as a stencil to cut out the cake.

4.  Then I cut it in half and filled the cake. You don’t necessarily have to fill it if you don’t want to, but if you don’t fill it then you should make the cake taller.

5. I froze the cake so that it would be easier to carve out the details

6. I started carving the cake. If you have access to a controller, I would recommend using it as a guide rather than using pictures . The final cake will be more accurate. If you want to just use pictures and you can’t find the correct angles or sides, just comment this post and I will post all of the pictures I took.

7. I crumb coated the cake with cream cheese frosting.

here are the different views of the cake

side

top

front view

8. I double checked to make sure the cake was sculpted the way I wanted it. Then I refrigerated the cake while I rolled out the fondant. I shaped pieces of fondant to go under the fondant cover.

9. I covered the cake in fondant. And cut away the extra at the bottom.

10. I shaped the xbox logo and dusted it with silver luster dust. If you want you can mix luster dust with vodka and paint it on. I chose not to do that because it wasn’t opaque enough.

11. I shaped the area in the top center where the xbox logo goes. I shaped all of the buttons, knobs, and lettering to go under the gel. I wish I had a picture the knobs but I don’t. I shaped the knobs on toothpicks so it would be easy to put them on the cake later.

12. I did all of the final details right before the party. Including putting the knobs on, putting the gel (for the buttons) on the cake, putting the buttons on the top of the controller, and lettering.

13. You’re Done! yay, now you can relax and bask in the praise you are about to get for all of your hard work.

17 responses

    • If you are cutting out the basic shape, just use the stencil. But if you are talking about trimming it to 3D shape then I would recommend freezing it first so that it is sturdier. You can also freeze it before you cut out the stencil if you are worried. Hope that helps, and feel free to comment any more questions. Good luck!

      • I made them out of black fondant. Take about a quarter sized ball of fondant (maybe less) and roll one end like a snake but leave the other end as a ball; so that it makes an antenna shape. Flatten the ball part of the antenna perpendicular to the stem. And then if you notice a xbox controller knob is convex so that it fits your fingers better, so I pushed down the center a bit more. Once the knob was done I stuck a toothpick up it. Stick the other end of the toothpick in something that will hold it up right. I stuck mine into another piece of fondant. But if you have any styrofoam that would work too.
        The other button I just shaped flat and then stuck to the cake with a bit of frosting.
        Does that help? Let me know if you have more questions.

  1. That helped lots! I’m making this cake as part of a birthday present for my boyfriend, as he is Xbox obsessed, and he’s sure to love this. Thank you so much!

    • No, follow the recipe as normal. Use the cocoa powder for dusting the table after you have added the dye. It will help keep your black darker than if you use powdered sugar.
      If you are dying your whole recipe, you can add your black dye while its still mixing. This will save you a lot of elbow grease. I recommend using a gel dye and never liquid when dying fondant. Because it adds too much liquid. Be sure to save your self some white.

    • Thank you so much!
      It is shiny because I refrigerated it. Because of the cream cheese filling. You could also brush it with water if you wanted. But it would be more realistic if it weren’t shiny. The controller is life sized. I think I included a picture of my brother eating it. But it’s been a while since I posted that.

Leave a Reply

