Chia seed cranberry walnut bars

So after eating a lot of sugary goodness last week, I decided that I needed to eat something healthy. Healthy but still delicious. I had seen a recipe for chia seed bars on runeatpdx, which is one of the blogs that I follow. I am not a runner but I do enjoy the recipes for healthy food. When I first saw the picture I immediately thought the chia bars looked good.

But chia seeds? What are chia seeds? The only chia seeds I could think of were the cha cha chia plant I had growing up and how I never got it to grow. I was skeptical so I did a little more research. First off they don’t taste like anything so if you add them to a recipe it wont change the flavor. Chia seeds get jelly when added to a liquid so they can be used as a substitute for egg in some recipes. And most important of all they are very good for you providing omega 3 fatty acids than a serving of salmon, and more calcium than a serving of milk. Which for me, a woman who doesn’t eat fish and is lactose intolerant is music to my ears.

So anyway, back to the chia bars. This bars are very easy to make and are a good healthy snack. I think they could be very versatile. So I definitely think these are going to be my go to work snack.

Where to buy chia seeds:

You should be able to buy them at any grocery store in the health/natural section. I bought a bag of Bob’s Red Mill brand at Fred Meyer. It was only 9 dollars.

different combination ideas

  • use orange juice instead of lemon juice and use cranberries and walnuts
  • raspberries and pecans
  • all nuts no dried fruit
  • dried mango pieces and macadamia nuts
  • fresh pears and walnuts
  • basically any dried fruit and nut combo you can imagine

Chia Seed Cranberry Walnut bars

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 6 tablespoons fresh lemon juice (approx 1.5 lemons)
  • 1.5 cups regular oats, ground into a flour in food processor
  • 1/2 cup regular oats (not ground)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1.5 cups unsweetened shredded coconut + additional for sprinkling
  • 2 tablespoons lemon zest
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/3 cup honey*
  • 4 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
  • 1/4 cup walnuts
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 350F. Line an 8 inch square pan with parchment paper*.

2. In a small bowl, mix together the chia seeds and lemon juice. Set aside to gel up while you prepare the rest of the ingredients. Take your 1.5 cup of oats and process them in food processor until a flour forms.

3. In a medium bowl, mix together the oat flour (regular oats processed into a flour), baking powder, 1/2 cup regular oats, kosher salt, lemon zest, dried cranberries, pistachios, and shredded coconut.

4. In another small bowl, whisk together the melted coconut oil, applesauce, and agave nectar. Mix in the gelled up chia seed mixture until combined.

5. Add wet to dry and stir well until blended. It will take a while to mix it thoroughly. Scoop the mixture into the prepared pan and spread out smoothly with a spatula. Sprinkle additional coconut on top before baking.

6. Bake for about 20 minutes at 350F until golden around the outer edge. It will very lightly spring up when pressed.

7. Cool in pan for about 10 minutes before transferring onto a cooling rack for about 30 minutes. Cut into 16 squares. Approx 200 calories per square.

Here is the original recipe without the changes I made to it.

Notes:

I used honey in the recipe, but you can switch it out for agave nectar.

I, for some reason don’t have a 8in pan so I just used a 8x 10 casserole pan, and they still turned out great.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Chai Seed Granola | Mixing with Madison

Leave a Reply

